One comment on “The Clinton Correctional Facility escape: Real-life news stories vs. works of fiction

  1. It’s a good topic, Matt. In terms of ethical principles in tension, I wonder if it’s partly a matter of various dimensions of pursuing the truth. Part of the task of the journalist is to provide audiences with ways into a story. And as useful as it might be to describe the similarities and differences of this story to prison-escape movies, your point is well taken that much of the coverage seemed over the top. When you reach a conclusion like that, it’s often useful to sit back and ask, OK, if that angle has been done to death, what’s a fresh angle that readers might find useful and interesting. One possibility: An exploration of readers’ emotional engagement with the story. I have to admit to having been fascinated enough by the story that I read pretty much every word written by NYT reporters about it. But I’d still be interested in a story that I don’t believe I saw: Just what drove my fascination with it. Perhaps some of it had to do with my own coverage (partly by helicopter) of another notorious prison break (this one in 1975) described here.

    Like

Leave a comment